Announcement: Wally Armstrong to produce exclusive training content as Payne Stewart Brand Ambassador

Payne Stewart Award (PGA Tour)

CHARITY, CHARACTER AND SPORTSMANSHIP: Three qualities that connect Payne Stewart to the award recipients

Leaving a lasting impression is important to Kenny Perry, just as it was for Payne Stewart. Both knew their charitable giving impacts many more lives than any of their pin-hunting 5-irons or clutch putts.

Most think of Justin Leonard’s ‘putt heard round the world’ when recalling the 1999 Ryder Cup. Payne Stewart’s act on the 18th green isn’t often remembered, but it was memorable because it showed true character.

Golf is a game that tests your patience, and Payne Stewart knew it. He came so close so many times to add to his illustrious resume, but was always the consummate professional when things didn’t go his way.

Payne Stewart Award Past Recipients

2018: Bernhard Langer

2017: Stewart Cink

2016: Jim Furyk

2015: Ernie Els

2014: Nick Faldo

2013: Peter Jacobsen

2012: Steve Stricker

2011: David Toms

2010: Tom Lehman

2009: Kenny Perry

2008: Davis Love II

2007: Hal Sutton

2006: Gary Player

2005: Brad Faxon

2004: Jay Haas

2003: Tom Watson

2002: Nick Price

2001: Ben Crenshaw

2000: Jack Nicklaus

2000: Arnold Palmer